Day 3 - Reserva Natural Volcan Mombacho

The group at our photo stop - Catarina Mirador
The group at our photo stop - Catarina Mirador
Today we had a very busy day. Since I have to be up in less than 5 hours I am going to leave you tonight with two guest blogs from students. I will say that we went to a volcano, a market, and ended the day with a photo stop. The photo I uploaded to the iPad was not the one with all the students looking....oops. I do have a better one on the camera.  

Tomorrow is a travel day to Costa Rica. We've been told it could take up to two hours to clear customs. Yikes! 

Enjoy, 

Adam 


Natalie's Experience:
When I first entered Nicaragua, I was amazed at the airport. I was expecting a big fancy airport like the ones in the U.S., so I was surprised to see that you walk off the plane and into the humid air. We went through customs, and then I got my first real look at the country and culture. The buildings were colorful, and people were friendly as we passed by on the bus. I waved to everyone I saw, and many waves were returned to me. I started to realize what a great place I was in. I noted that many homes were just hammocks on patios, and how much trash littered the road. Through it all, I couldn't think of a better place to be. The problems of 1st world countries are nothing compared to the problems of 3rd world countries. And even though the challenges are extreme, they still manage to enjoy their lives and have fun. I watched boys play basketball on the street, laughing and smiling in their tattered clothes. I smiled as children ran and chased each other, and felt pain for those who sat on the streets depressed. I fell in love with Nicaragua, and hope to come back someday!


Melia's Experiance:
This trip has been one of the most amazing things that has ever happened to me. I have traveled to many countries before and something that I have learned is that no two places are the same. There are so many new experiences and opportunities that come with traveling. I have already learned so much from this trip and I cannot wait to learn more. Yesterday was one of the best days that I have had while traveling before. Yesterday we started out by getting ready and going to breakfast. The breakfast at the hotel is very good, and it is a healthy way to start off the say. It also gives us a great introduction to the Nicaraguan culture. Then we took the bus to this boat tour. When we got there we saw what looked like stray dogs running around. I noticed that they were females and that they looked like they were giving milk to puppies. Mrs. Lechuga pointed out that this could represent the strays in the country and how this could lead to more puppies becoming hungry. It is funny how the little conversations that you have can lead to an eye-opening epiphany. I am an animal-lover and I can understand that this could actually lead to a hard life for an animal. Then we got onto the boat. I learned that there were three-hundred and sixty-five islands and we got to tour them. This trip is amazing because it not only combines adventure and excitement that I love, but I also can learn. It teaches me to be more thankful for all that I have in the United States because I am so lucky to go to school and to have food on the table. While we were on the boat, we saw monkeys. They were playing with an old shirt I think, and I didn't think much of it at the time, but now as I am realizing it, it is amazing. The monkeys were just there like nothing was wrong and no one was bothering them. Maybe the monkeys are like buffalo to us. Maybe they are common for the locals, but to us, seeing them was amazing. I have seen monkeys before in India, but I was three. I feel like this is one trip that I will actually be able to remember. So I am glad it is turing out to be a good one. Then we did a walking tour around town. It was so hot that in normal circumstances I could hardly function. But then I could only focus on the beauty of the streets. The colorful building seemed as if each one had something interesting to say. The local shops sold the same things, but each one was so different. Then we got a chance to split off and go to this chapel.  In this chapel I learned so much about the culture, and I saw so much of Nicaragua. It is such an amazing place and I recommend it for anyone who wants to travel there.

Write a comment

Comments: 16
  • #1

    Bill (Monday, 21 March 2016 18:59)

    Great remembrances Natalie and Melia. Keep up learning and having fun. Please keep blogging again during the week !

  • #2

    Michelle (Monday, 21 March 2016 19:06)

    Really enjoyed your blogs. Thanks Natalie and Melia. Hope you inspired others to share their experiences as well.

  • #3

    Alicia (Vanessa's cousin) (Tuesday, 22 March 2016 08:01)

    Enjoyed the student blogs. this is just such a wonderful experience for the students to have. So proud of you Vanessa!

  • #4

    psychics online (Tuesday, 13 December 2016 15:12)

    kazuaryna

  • #5

    wróżba (Wednesday, 14 December 2016 04:00)

    niepodejrzanego

  • #6

    text a psychic (Thursday, 15 December 2016 06:40)

    contorted

  • #7

    sextel (Monday, 19 December 2016 07:39)

    whale

  • #8

    anonse erotyczne (Wednesday, 28 December 2016 17:26)

    aerozolować

  • #9

    partnerrückführung (Thursday, 12 January 2017 19:08)

    zrewitalizować

  • #10

    rytuał miłosny (Monday, 10 April 2017 04:17)

    rytuał miłosny

  • #11

    tanie dziwki (Monday, 04 September 2017 13:21)

    semiologia

  • #12

    seks oferty (Friday, 08 September 2017 07:46)

    babrającymi

  • #13

    zobacz ogłoszenie (Saturday, 09 September 2017 10:03)

    nieoblindowanie

  • #14

    seks telefon (Monday, 02 October 2017 05:34)

    repetitio

  • #15

    sex rozmowy (Friday, 06 October 2017 05:30)

    nieusensowniany

  • #16

    sekstelefon (Friday, 13 October 2017 08:39)

    dumniej