Peru Day 4 - Sacred Valley

Our birthday treat
Our birthday treat

Today we have two guest bloggers by the name of Carson and Cole! They have a fun and different take on the day than our last two female bloggers. Enjoy!

 

Day 4: A New Hope By Carson L, Script by Carson L

Waking up this morning to my Smash Mouth alarm was exhilarating. I got in the shower of my new hotel room, only to be confused by the strange handles. I twisted and turned the handles but it was no use. My roommates were confused as well, the shower was against us all. We ate a scrumptious breakfast and got on the bus. It was a long bus ride. I am not a huge fan of the bus. We traveled to a weaving place with a bunch of ladies, who taught us about their culture. The weaving sticks they gave us were basically fidget spinners (NYOOM). I purchased a hat, people were surprised but it was only 20 bucks. The ladies kept trying to sell us scarves, which I know I would never wear. We then went to the Salt pans where a purchased a refreshing, delicious, Inca Kola. They said I wouldn’t get hooked after my first hit, they lied. We walked downhill a lot there and saw a sheep tied to a cliff. There were many dogs with disease. After that amazing event, we went to a small town square to provide nourishment for the whiny children, I got pizza that took about an hour to get and 10 minutes to finish. My group was the last one back. That was probably the worst part of my day, but was made better by the company of Mr. Thornton. We then went to an Incan ruin called the Temple of the Sun. It was amazing to actually see the face in the mountain that the Incans knew as their god. They had some nice architecture but yet again had too many stairs. The Incans are evil just because of their love for stairs. They probably died because they spent too much time building stairs. I bought another Inca Kola. On the drive back everyone got mad at me and my friends for singing weird songs. Finally, we got back to the hotel and celebrated Brian’s birthday by eating cake, chicken, and a deceased guinea pig that most people didn’t enjoy. I on the other hand believed it to taste like beef jerky.  

“Today was a good day.” -Ice cube 1993



Day 4 as written by Cole H

 

I dreamt of the delicious frozen beverage known as frosted orange. It has been three days since the drink has caressed my taste buds.  But, today started out with me feeling like an All Star. After Smash Mouth woke me up, I had to get my roomies up from their slumber. One of my roomies was being a little bit uncooperative and one was up in a jiffy. We had a delicious fruit salad (yummy yummy) for breakfast along with a yogurt drink that looked like Pepto-Bismol, but it tasted like a new day of opportunities. We got in the extremely hot bus for one full hour. We went to a weaving place and learned about the wonders of weaving. Dylan and I got super cool hats with flowers on them. I bought a bracelet. Then we went to the salt mines where the drink known around these parts as Inca Cola.It gave me flashbacks of the frosted orange. I fell down in the salt mines and got a boo-boo on my knee. After we had left the salt mines, I jammed out to some

All Americans Rejects, The Killers and Smash Mouth on the ride to the central plaza of Cusco where we had lunch. I had three delicious empanadas and an Inca Cola. We walked around the plaza and looked at some shops. I bought another Inca Cola. After lunch we went to a place called the Temple de Sol. There were more stairs there than I had ever climbed in my life. We learned all about the Incas and saw a rock which looked like a dude’s face which the Incans thought was their god. We left the temple and then all the kids (including me) in the back of the bus started becoming a Smash Mouth cover band. We attracted lots of H8ers because we were singing while people were trying to sleep. While I was listening to some Fifth Harmony, I missed my American flag fidget spinner. I drank another Inca Cola. When we arrived back at the hotel and approximately 6:46 pm Central Standard time, I pet the doggo that was staying at our hotel. The doggo was by far the best thing about the hotel. For dinner, we had potatoes as an appetizer, chicken as our entree. After the chicken was eaten and digested, we had got birthday cake because it was Brian’s 14th birthday. The cake was a tad on the dry side. Then the tour guide came around with a massive plate of chopped up Guniea Pig. Personally, I thought the Cuy,as it is called here in the country of Peru, was not that good. After we finished out cuy, we popped open a cold Inca Cola with the boys. I pet the doggo again because it is super fluffy. Today was fun. We did a lot of fun things. I had my first encounter with an Inca Cola. So overall, on a scale of 1 to 10, I give today a 9.

Write a comment

Comments: 0