Day 5 - Cloud Forest and Snorkeling

Our group after snorkeling
Our group after snorkeling
It is hard to believe we are more than halfway through our trip. It sure has gone by quickly. Day 5 was a lot of fun for students even though the stomach bug continues to affect some of us on the trip. The good news is students are bouncing back quickly. 

In the morning students traveled to Rincon de la Vieja National Park to see a cloud forest high up in the mountains. There were monkeys and some really cool steam vents from the volcano. Since I did not make the trip Lindesy was kind enough to share her photos with us. They are located in the photo tab 
The afternoon was filled with a snorkeling excursion. Students were able to snorkel and see a wide variety of fish and sea life. There was even an opportunity to play on the beach which was a big hit with all. All of this fun has exhausted the students many of them even wanted to go to bed before the mandatory lights out. :) Tomorrow we hit the road again. One of my favorite things about this hotel is the Howler Monkies you can hear in the trees at night. 

Don't miss out on the blogs by Sydney and Lindsey below. .

Adam Thornton

Sydney:
I personally love traveling and I have been to a few places around the world with my family, but going on this trip with my school and my friends has been the best trip because I'm able to do things that many teens are not able to experience. So far, my favorite thing we have done was going snorkeling. I go to the beach every year in Rhode Island and every time I leave, I miss it so much. So being back in the ocean was so much fun. It was extra awesome because I was with my friends. I have never gone on a vacation with my friends so being with my friends makes snorkeling even more fun. While we were touring Nicaragua's city lot of thoughts went through my head. One was wanting to get air conditioning but the big thought was how poor the city was\seemed. There were so many people coming up to us and asking for us to buy things and give them money. And the things that people were selling were also what other people were selling. Like the exact same things. There were also lots people who had sent up stands and selling food or clothes or pins. But everything's was not that expensive.  I hope one day I will be able to come back with my family so I can show them all the amazing things I have done and learned here. 

Lindsey:
So I have traveled a lot over the years especially since my family was in the military. This is the first time I'm super far away though. I loved being in Nicaragua. One thing I want to remember about that country is how they build around nature instead of through like us in America. It was cool to see part of a forest in the middle of the hotel along with animals like lizards in the rooms. Costa Rica does that so not much of nature is destroyed. The people here are really cool too. Most of them are extremely nice and helpful. I've experienced so many new things from arguing with screaming ducks over a pool to finding Dori while snorkeling. And it's amazing to share this experience with so many people that over this short period of time have become great friends. Most of these people I probably wouldn't ever had talked to if it wasn't for this trip. I am so grateful for this opportunity and would like to thank the chaperones and parents for making this experience possible for us students. We have been so busy and I'm enjoying this sunshine and warm waters before I have to return to snowy Colorado. This is all going by super fast and it's amazing to look back every night and think about how I saw something different or experienced something different. The tour guides, Antonio and Jorge, along with our bus driver, Mario, are doing an awesome job in answering our questions and making sure we have an awesome time. I've gotten a bit homesick though and I can see how lucky I am to have something as simple as a washing machine or air conditioner. Well I'm goona leave it at this. Pura Vida. 

Write a comment

Comments: 4
  • #1

    Michelle (Wednesday, 23 March 2016 00:50)

    Lindsey and Sydney, thank you for sharing. It is so awesome to hear the joy you are experiencing and appreciation you guys have for this opportunity. Hope everyone can shake this bug and enjoy the rest of your trip.

  • #2

    Grampa Stotz (Wednesday, 23 March 2016 08:43)

    Lindsey: Please don't even think about bringing any lizards nor other critters back home with you. We know how much you love animals. lol

  • #3

    Priscilla Gullekson (Wednesday, 23 March 2016 14:20)

    Thanks for the blogs and the wonderful pictures. As you all are dealing with the heat and humidity, the Denver metro area has blizzard conditions! Hope everyone gets healthy and is able to enjoy the rest of the trip. We love you Lindsey- travel smart!

  • #4

    Danielle Stewart (Friday, 25 March 2016 01:02)

    Nice job, girls! Thanks for sharing!!